Minerals & Metals
Overview

In recent years, Saudi Arabia has witnessed remarkable growth in the production of primary, midstream and downstream mineral and metals products for both local and export markets.

Now, Saudi Arabia strives to increase the mining sector contribution to the national economy as a part of the Kingdom’s 2030 vision. Accordingly, the Industrial Clusters, along with its strategic partners, is working to expand exploration and mining activities (upstream), primary materials industries (midstream), and to develop sustainable and globally competitive value-added semi-finished and finished metal industries (downstream) that support the Kingdom’s goals of diversification and development of advanced industries such as automotive, aerospace, ship building, machinery & equipment and others.

The Minerals and Metals Cluster is currently directing its efforts towards expanding the aluminum, steel and copper industrial base and developing titanium metal, tantalum, niobium, rare earth elements and quartz / silica industries.

The availability of competitive primary aluminum products in the Kingdom forms a solid foundation for developing high value aluminum products for automotive, aerospace and other advanced industries.

Further, the large and growing local demand for steel products presents exceptional opportunities for developing iron ore mining and pellets production, where large amounts of iron ore exist in the Kingdom. Additionally, the growing demand from the oil & gas, energy, automotive and ship building provides an opportunity for new steel products such as plate, rolled steel products and specialty steels castings and forgings.

The large existing demand for copper products (i.e. cables and rods) provides an opportunity for expanding copper mining, developing a copper smelter and also expanding the existing downstream industries into new products such as tubes, bars, plates and others.

Geological studies have indicated the availability of large tantalum, niobium and rare earth elements resources in the Kingdom. In fact, the Ghurayyah deposit is the world’s second largest potential niobium resource and it would supply a significant share of the primary tantalum metals market.  In addition, it contains by-product zircon that could also be exploited. These products are used in several applications such as capacitors, carbide cutting tools, MRI wire and others.

Exploration work on several Quartz sites indicated that potential prospects exist that can be used for producing several advanced products including silicon metal, silicones, EMC fillers, optical glass and others.

The objectives of the Minerals and Metals Cluster include:

  • Creating investment opportunities in the mining sector and metals industries, and encouraging and supporting Saudi and foreign investments.
  • Maximizing the economic impact of national resources through taking full advantage of local content, value chain integration and creating sustainable job opportunities for the national workforce.
  • Enhancing competitiveness and innovation through talent development.
  • Satisfying the local market demand and increasing exports of high value added semi-final and final metal products
  • Contributing to the growth of the less developed regions in the Kingdom.

OPPORTUNITIES

Minerals & Metals

The Industrial Clusters, represented by the Minerals and Metals Cluster, is working on the development of several opportunities which include: ·  …

  LEARN MORE

Success Stories

تجمع المعادن والصناعات المعدنية
نظرة عامة

شهدت المملكة العربية السعودية في السنوات الأخيرة نمواً كبيراً في إنتاج المنتجات المعدنية الأولية والمتوسطة والتحويلية للأسواق المحلية ولغايات التصدير.

وتسعى المملكة في الوقت الحاضر إلى زيادة مشاركة قطاع المعادن والصناعات المعدنية في الاقتصاد الوطني كجزء من رؤية المملكة 2030. وعلى هذا الأساس، تقوم التجمعات الصناعية مع شركائها الإستراتيجيين بالعمل على التوسع في استكشاف المعادن وفي نشاطات التعدين (الصناعات الأولية)، وفي صناعات المواد الأولية (المتوسطة)، ومن ثم تطوير منتجات قابلة للمنافسة عالمياً وذات قيمة مضافة، مكتملة وغير مكتملة (تحويلية)، ما يدعم أهداف المملكة التي تسعى إلى التنوع والتطور في الصناعات المتقدمة مثل السيارات، قطع معدات الفضاء، بناء السفن، المكائن والمعدات، وغيرها.

يركز تجمع المعادن والصناعات المعدنية جهوده في الوقت الحاضر على توسيع القاعدة الصناعية في مجال الألمنيوم، والحديد والنحاس، وفي تطوير صناعات معدن التيتانيوم، والتانتالوم، والنيوبيوم، وعناصر الأرض النادرة والكوارتز/ السيليكا.

إن في وفرة منتجات الألمنيوم الأولية المنافسة في المملكة ما يشكل قاعدة صلبة لتطوير منتجات عالية القيمة من الألمنيوم الداخل في صناعة السيارات، وقطع معدات الفضاء، إلى جانب صناعات متقدمة أخرى.

كذلك، فإن الطلب المحلي الكبير والمتزايد على المنتجات الحديدية يمثل فرصاً مميّزة لتطوير مناجم خام الحديد الذي تتوفر منه كميات كبيرة في المملكة، ولإنتاج حبيبات الحديد. ويعتبر الطلب المتنامي من صناعات الزيت والغاز والطاقة والسيارات وبناء السفن، عاملاً بمثابة فرصة لإنتاج منتجات معدنية جديدة مثل الصفائح، رولات الحديد، وصب وسباكة المعادن المخصوصة.

وبالمثل، فإن الطلب الحالي الكبير على منتجات النحاس (الكابلات والقضبان) يوفر فرصة للتوسع في عمليات التنقيب عن النحاس، وتطوير مصهر للنحاس، وكذلك التوسع في الصناعات التحويلية القائمة حالياً في منتجات جديدة مثل الأنابيب والقضبان والصفائح، وغيرها.

ينت الدراسات الجيولوجية وجود مصادر لكميات وفيرة من التانتالوم والنيوبيوم وعناصر الأرض النادرة في المملكة. وفي حقيقة الأمر، فإن منجم "الغرية" يعتبر ثاني أكبر المصادر للنيوبيوم في العالم، ومن المتوقع أن يساهم بحصة كبيرة في سوق معادن التانتالوم الأساسية. كذلك يحتوي هذا المنجم على الزرقون الذي سيتم النظر في استكشافه. وتستخدم هذه المنتجات في عدد من التطبيقات مثل المكثفات، وأدوات قص الكاربايد، وأسلاك (MRI)، وغير ذلك.

كذلك، بينت عمليات استكشاف الكوارتز في عدد من المواقع احتمال وجود كميات كبيرة منه، حيث إنه يستخدم في إنتاج العديد من المنتجات ومنها معدن السيليكون، والسيليكونات، وحشوات (EMC)، والعدسات البصرية، وغيرها.

تشتمل أهداف تجمع المعادن والصناعات المعدنية على ما يلي:

  • إيجاد فرص استثمارية في قطاع التنقيب وفي الصناعات المعدنية، وتشجيع ودعم الاستثمارات السعودية والأجنبية.
  • تعظيم الأثر الاقتصادي للموارد المحلية من خلال الاستفادة القصوى من المحتوى المحلي وسلسلة القيمة وإيجاد فرص وظيفية دائمة لليد العاملة السعودية.
  • تعزيز التنافسية والإبداع من خلال تطوير الكفاءات.
  • •تلبية احتياجات السوق وزيادة الصادرات من المنتجات المعدنية المكتملة وغير المكتملة ذات القيمة المضافة العالية.
  • المساهمة في نمو المناطق الأقل تطوراً في المملكة العربية السعودية.

الفُرص

المزايا والفرص الاستثمارية

يعمل برنامج التجمعات الصناعية، ممث ً بتجمع المعادن والصناعات المعدنية، على تطوير العديد من الفرص، ومنها: · تعدين خام الحديد ومعالجته · تعدين خام …

  معرفة المزيد

قصص نجاح