Chemical Cluster
Overview

The Chemicals Cluster strategy is focused on fostering the growth of specific value chains that support the realization of 2030 Kingdom’s vision capitalizing on the advantages of the available natural resources and the qualified national workforces.

Since late seventies the petrochemical industry in the Kingdom has been focusing on converting natural gas into petrochemical products with the highest specifications to compete globally. Now, the focus is shifted towards developing further downstream industries through specific value chains taking into consideration the need for replacing the enormous amounts of imported materials, parts and components.

The Chemicals Cluster continues to target developing new value chains in certain sectors such as Advanced plastics applications, oil & gas field chemicals, mining chemicals, rubber products, construction chemicals, medical and pharma related products, personal care products, human and animal nutrition additives.

The development of Saudi Arabia’s downstream industry is part of the country’s overall economic diversification program away from hydrocarbons.

The expansion of Saudi Arabia’s downstream industry can be attributed to low domestic energy costs, a ready supply of raw materials and a rapidly increasing population in addition to the Saudi Government’s commitment to industrial diversification through foreign investment.

With increased investment and technological know-how, the downstream industry in the Kingdom has undergone a major diversification from basic to more sophisticated products.

Through a number of financial incentives and a supportive national policy, the Saudi Government encourages industrial joint ventures or technology licensing to substitute imports and make this industry competitive for export.


OPPORTUNITIES

Investment Opportunities

The development of the polymer industry in Saudi Arabia moved to advanced materials as shown in the diagram below. This broad portfolio of polymers and el…

  LEARN MORE

Success Stories

تجمع الصناعات الكيماوية
نظرة عامة

يركز تجمع الصناعات الكيماوية على النمو في سلاسل قيمة محددة من شأنها أن تدعم تحقيق رؤية المملكة 2030 بالاستفادة من الثروات الطبيعية المتوفرة محلياً، والمدعومة باليد العاملة السعودية المؤهلة.

إبتداءً من أواخر السبعينيات، أخذت الصناعات البتروكيماوية في المملكة تركز على تحويل الغاز الطبيعي إلى منتجات بتروكيماوية تتمتع بأعلى المواصفات التي تمكنها من المنافسة عالمياً. أما الآن فقد تحول التركيز نحو تطوير المزيد من الصناعات التحويلية من خلال سلاسل قيمة معينة، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار الحاجة إلى الاستعاضة عن الكميات الكبيرة من المواد والقطع والمكونات المستوردة.

ويواصل التجمع استهدافه لتطوير سلاسل قيمة جديدة في بعض القطاعات مثل تطبيقات البلاستيك المتقدمة، الكيماويات الميدانية للزيت والغاز، كيماويات التنقيب، منتجات المطاط، كيماويات الإنشاء والتعمير، المنتجات ذات العلاقة بالصناعات الدوائية، منتجات العناية الشخصية، مضافات التغذية البشرية والحيوانية.

يعتبر تطوير الصناعات التحويليلة في المملكة جزءاً من البرنامج الوطني الشامل لتنويع المصادر الاقتصادية بعيداً عن المصادر الهايدروكربونية. ويعزى التوسع في هذه الصناعات إلى انخفاض تكلفة الطاقة المحلية، وإلى جاهزية توفير المواد الأولية، وإلى التسارع في أعداد السكان، إلى جانب التزام حكومة المملكة تجاه تنويع الصناعات من خلال استثمارات خارجية.

مع ازدياد عمليات الاستثمار واكتساب المعرفة التقنية، فقد تمكنت المملكة بشكل كبير من االانتقال من مرحلة المنتجات الأولية إلى منتجات أكثر تعقيداً.

وتقدم حكومة المملكة العربية السعودية مجموعة من الحوافز المالية والسياسات الوطنية الداعمة من أجل التشجيع على إقامة المشاركات الصناعية أو الحصول على التراخيص الصناعية سعياً وراء الاستعاضة عن المنتجات المستوردة ووضع الصناعات المحلية في مستوى المنافسة عالمياً لغايات التصدير.


الفُرص

المزايا والفرص الاستثمارية

تطورت صناعات البوليمرات في المملكة العربية السعودية وتحولت إلى مراحل إنتاج متقدمة كما هو موضح في الشكل أدناه. من شأن هذه المجموعة الواسعة من البوليمرات وا…

  معرفة المزيد

قصص نجاح