Automotive
Overview

 

Industry Development:

Several major projects have been recently implemented in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. In the Eastern Region, Isuzu Motors started operations in late 2012 with a capacity of 25,000 trucks a year by 2020 and a plan to export 40% of its production at its peak volumes. Three other major global OEMs producing Heavy Duty Commercial Vehicles are operating in the Western Region. They are: Mercedes, Volvo and MAN. The current total production of all four OEMs is in the range of 12k and is expected to reach 39k by 2022.

In addition, many Tier 2 and Tier 3 suppliers already exist in the Kingdom. The major suppliers include Petrochemical Conversion Company (PCC) for Plastic Injection Molding, Saudi Lamino Industries for Windshield Production, Saudi Filter supplying Volvo in Sweden, Middle East Batteries Company MEBCO JV with Johnson Controls.

Industrial Clusters has worked and continues to work with major Saudi partners such as SABIC, MA’ADEN, TASNEE, and ARAMCO to produce advanced mobility materials, including the production of carbon black and synthetic rubber (for tires), carbon fiber, Nylon 66, ABS, polyurethane, composites, automotive steel sheets, automotive aluminum sheets, automotive molten aluminum, etc.

The private sector has already invested in downstream industries to utilize this raw material advantage and has begun producing oil filters, circuit boards, batteries, cabling, sensors, adhesives, paints, composites, trims and seats.

Auto Cluster is also focusing on areas of particularly strong advantages, such as parts produced using relatively large amounts of available liquid aluminum utilizing high amounts of energy. In particular, Auto Cluster is focusing on Powertrain and other die cast structural components to set up a manufacturing plant right next to MA’ADEN utilizing the savings of ingot vs. liquid aluminum and high energy savings.


Organizational and Government Support:

Industrial Clusters is the designated agency to provide, evaluate and recommend the form of assistance to automotive related investors and companies. This support could include:


  • Support in carrying out market research and providing market data
  • Support in identifying the best possible locations, sites, suppliers and staff
  • Help in evaluating business model options such as foreign direct investment, joint venture and licensed operations
  • Assessing eligibility for extended support
  • Assisting in applications and set ups

Industrial Clusters can also advise on accessing financing bodies such as Public Investment Fund, Saudi Industrial Development Fund, in addition to private venture capital. In Saudi Arabia, foreign companies enjoy all the benefits, guarantees and incentives offered to Saudi-owned companies.

If Saudi-based automotive manufacturers find that certain products are not available from domestic suppliers, they are exempted from customs duties on imported raw materials, associated equipment, and spare parts used for the production of such unavailable products. Once an automotive project is operational, capital and profits can be repatriated without restriction.

Other sources of Investment incentives and support include the Human Resources Development Fund, which provides financial support for training, employment and innovation grants for joint industrial-academic research.


Global Auto Market:

The automotive industry is a key pillar of the global economy; a main driver of macroeconomic growth and technological advancement in developing and developed countries. The value chain for automotive industry spans very wide and covers many other adjacent industries and hence creates a multiplier effect much higher than any other industry.

This multiplier factor ranges between 5-7 between direct OEM jobs and the eco-system jobs. Global automotive market is projected to grow from 86 million (2014) to 104 million (2022) vehicle/year with 80% of the growth coming from the emerging markets. The global turnover of the industry is estimated to be around $2.41 Trillion with 11.252 Million direct jobs. With a multiplier factor of 5, the relevant job creation from automotive industry is estimated to be around 50 million+ globally.

Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Automotive Market:

Against this strong background, the automotive cluster is committed to developing a Saudi Arabian Automotive industry, encompassing car, truck and bus manufacturing, research & development, design, components, sub-systems and sub-assemblies manufacturing, full vehicle assembly, and logistics. This initiative fits the overall KPI’s of the Kingdom; which are to create highly technological employment and diversification into non-oil based industries.

At the heart of this drive, the automotive cluster is aiming to:

  • Encourage and support further Saudi Arabian and foreign investment in the sector
  • Make KSA a major player in vehicle development and production
  • Reduce imports and increase exports
  • Create and sustain employment
  • Assist with national economic diversification
    1. IBIS World Industry Report Global Car and Automobile Manufacturing 2014
    2. OICA.net (Organisation Internationale des Constructeurs d'Automobiles)

Saudi Arabia is also a major consumer of cars and trucks, all currently imported. Sales in 2015 for Light Vehicle reached 774,0001 units. This number is expected to grow to 800,000 units in 2016. Toyota is the sales leader with around 34% of the total sales followed by Hyundai-Kia, General Motors, and Nissan-Renault. Saudi Arabia is the largest car market in the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) which includes Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates. The strongest segments to be sold in Saudi Arabia are C and D for both Sedan and SUV styles. The GCC has annual car sales of over 1.56 million, highlighting the potential of KSA as being the regional hub of car production.

There is strong demand for commercial vehicle market also, supported in part by the country's booming construction sector. GCC Trucks and buses sales are around 131K and is growing at 8%2 annually. Saudi Arabia is the biggest market of truck and busses with current market size of 21k and 11k yearly respectively. This market is expected to grow to 32K and 20K by year 2022 with overall growth of 62%.

The GCC is one of the fastest growing tire markets at approximately ~ 6% CAGR and is forecasted to reach 41M tires by 2020. Saudi Arabia is the largest market in GCC at 62% of the sales by units and a world-scale tire manufacturing plant in Saudi Arabia would be the first in the region and will gain a competitive access in the GCC market, GAFTA markets and Near East and African markets.




Currently there are around 11 million cars (PARC) on the roads in the Kingdom and hence, there is strong increase in demand for automotive aftermarket parts such as tires (Market size of 20 million) and other aftermarket automotive components.

Advantages and Opportunities:


In addition to the strong local market demands of Saudi and GCC, Saudi Arabia offers access to over 400 million consumers in Middle East-North Africa. MENA has total annual car sales of around 2.3 million, mostly imported from outside the region. Greater Arab Free Trade Agreement (GAFTA) gives duty free access to 17 countries in Middle East and Africa if local value add is 40% or greater.

KSA could serve an even wider area due to its central location between Europe, Africa and Asia covering more than 2 billion consumers are within three hours by air. Saudi Arabia's population of around 31 million - - is increasing by 2.3% a year. The number of households is rising by 3.7% a year. KSA's consumers are relatively affluent, having an GDP per capita of $24,252. The country's GDP is rising by 5% - 6% a year, much faster than in Europe and North America.


OPPORTUNITIES

Light Vehicle Manufacturing Plant

Saudi is developing a world class automotive industry to be a major regional player supplying the growing market demand. GCC, ME, and Africa are am…

  LEARN MORE
Aluminium Casting Manufacturing Plant

  To develop the automotive value chain, and to leverage the availability of raw materials such as Aluminum, NICDP has identified Powertrain and Struc…

  LEARN MORE
Tire Manufacturing Plant

 The project will be the first tire manufacturing project in Saudi Arabia covering the strong growth markets of the Gulf Cooperation Council Countrie…

  LEARN MORE

Success Stories

تجمع صناعة السيارات
نظرة عامة

 

 

التطور الصناعي

خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، تم تنفيذ عدد من المشاريع الاستثمارية في المملكة العربية السعودية، ومنها أن شركة إيسوزو اليابانية للسيارات ابتدأت عملياتها في المنطقة الشرقية أواخر العام 2012م بطاقة إنتاجية مقدارها (25.000) شاحنة سنوياً مع حلول العام 2020م، وهناك خطة لتصدير (40%) من الإنتاج إلى الخارج عندما يبلغ الإنتاج حده الأقصى. كذلك، هناك ثلاث شركات عالمية أخرى تقوم بعملياتها في المنطقة الغربية بصنع الشاحنات التجارية الثقيلة، وهي: مرسيدس، فولفو، مان. ويبلغ الإنتاج الإجمالي لهذه الشركات الأربع حالياً حوالي (12.000) وحدة، ويتوقع أن يبلغ (39.000) مع حلول العام 2020م.

وبالإضافة إلى إنتاج الشاحنات، هناك عدد من موردي القطع من المستوى الأول والمستوى الثاني في المملكة. وتضم قائمة الموردين هذه شركات مثل شركة تحويل البتروكيماويات لقوالب نفث البلاستيك، شركة صناعات لامينو السعودية لإنتاج الزجاج الأمامي للسيارات، شركة توريد الفلاتر لفولفو بالسويد، وشركة الشرق الأوسط للبطاريات المشتركة مع جونسون كونترولز.

يعمل برنامج التجمعات الصناعية بالتواصل مع كبريات الشركات مثل سابك، معادن، تصنيع، أرامكو السعودية على إنتاج مواد متقدمة تشمل الكربون الأسود والمطاط الصناعي (للإطارات)، ألياف الكربون، نايلون 66، (ABS)، بولي يوريثين، المركبات الكيماوية، الصفائح المعدنية للسيارات، صفائح الألمنيوم للسيارات، الألمنيوم المسال للسيارات، وغيرها.

لقد بدأ القطاع الخاص بالاستثمار في الصناعات التحويلية مستفيداً من المواد الخام المتوفرة، وبدأ في إنتاج فلاتر الزيت، لوحات الدوائر الكهربائية، البطاريات، الكوابل، الحساسات، المواد اللاصقة، الدهانات، الإطارات والمقاعد.

يركز تجمع السيارات كذلك على النواحي ذات الفائدة القوية مثل القطع التي يتم إنتاجها باستخدام كميات كبيرة نسبياً من الألمنيوم المسال والذي يستخدم مقادير كبيرة من الطاقة. ويركز تجمع السيارات بشكل خاص على أجزاء نقل الحركة وأجزاء الهيكل التي يتم إنتاجها بالسكب سعياً وراء إقامة مصنع قريب من شركة معادن للاستفادة من التوفير الحاصل من عمليات سكب الألمنيوم ومن التوفير الكبير في الطاقة.


الدعم الحكومي والنظامي

التجمعات الصناعية هي الجهة المكلفة بتقييم الدعم والمساعدة التي تقدم إلى الشركات التي تستثمر في مجال السيارات، والتوصية بالطريقة والشكل الذي يتم تقديم به تقديم ذلك الدعم. وذلك يشتمل على:


  • الدعم في إجراء دراسات وبحوث السوق وتوفير البيانات الخاصة بالسوق
  • الدعم في تحديد أفضل الأماكن والمواقع الممكنة، وكذلك أفضل الموردين والموظفين
  • المساعدة في تقييم الطريقة التي تتم بها الأعمال، مثل الاستثمار الخارجي المباشر، أم المشاركات التضامنية، أو العمليات المرخصة
  • تقييم الأهلية للتوسع في الدعم
  • المساعدة في التطبيقات وأعمال التركيب

كذلك، يمكن أن تقدم التجمعات الصناعية رأيها حول الوصول إلى جهات التمويل مثل صندوق الاستثمارات العامة، أو الصندوق السعودي للتنمية الصناعية، بالإضافة إلى رأس المال من القطاع الخاص. وتتمتع الشركات الأجنبية العاملة في المملكة بكافة المزايا والفوائد والضمانات والحوافز التي تتمتع بها الشركات السعودية.

إذا تبيّن لمصانع السيارات العاملة في المملكة عدم توفر أي من المنتجات من الموردين المحليين، فيتم إعفاؤها جمركياً لاستيراد المواد الخام والمعدات الخاصة وقطع الغيار اللازمة لإنتاج المواد غير المتوفرة. وحالما يصبح أي مشروع للسيارات قيد التشغيل، فإن رأس المال والأرباح يمكن تحويلها إلى الخارج بدون أية قيود.

تشمل مصادر حوافز ودعم الاستثمار صندوق تنمية الموارد البشرية، والذي يقدم دعماً مالياً لعمليات التدريب والتوظيف والمنح لعمليات البحث العلمي الصناعية المشتركة.


سوق السيارات العالمية

تعتبر صناعة السيارات أحد الركائز الرئيسية للاقتصاد العالمي؛ فهي محرك رئيسي للنمو الاقتصادي والتقدم التقني اللازم في الدول المتقدمة والنامية على السواء. وتتمتع هذه الصناعة بسلسلة قيمة تتسع لتغطي عدداً كبيراً من الصناعات التحويلية الملحقة بها؛ وهكذا، فإن الفائدة المتوقعة منها تتجاوز ما يتراوح بين خمسة أضعاف وسبعة أضعاف مثيلاتها في أية صناعة أخرى، وذلك من حيث الوظائف المباشرة التي تؤدي إلى إيجادها صناعة السيارات الرئيسية والوظائف غير المباشرة في الاقتصاد.

ومن المتوقع أن يرتفع النمو العالمي للسيارات ليبلغ ليرتفع من (86) مليون سيارة عام 2014م سنوياً إلى (104) ملايين سيارة سنوياً في العام 2022م. والجدير بالذكر أن 80% من هذا النمو ستأتي من الأسواق الناشئة. ومن ناحية أخرى، يتوقع أن تبلغ الحركة المالية لقطاع صناعة السيارات ما يقارب (2.4)(1) تريليون دولار أمريكي ويكون مسؤولاً عن ما يقارب (11.24)(2) وظيفة مباشرة. وعلى فرض تطبيق خمسة أضعاف فقط، فإن مجموع الوظائف المباشرة والمترتبة على صناعة السيارات ستكون بحدود تتجاوز (50) مليون وظيفة على المستوى العالمي.

سوق السيارات في المملكة العربية السعوية:

بالنظر إلى هذه الخلفية، فإن تجمع السيارات في البرنامج الوطني لتطوير التجمعات الصناعية، يعتبر ملتزماً بتطوير صناعة السيارات في المملكة العربية السعودية؛ وذلك يشمل سيارات الصالون، الشاحنات والباصات، إلى جانب أعمال البحث والتطوير، التصميم وصناعة المكونات والأجهزة الفرعية، والتجميع الكامل للسيارات، والخدمات اللوجستية. وتعتبر هذه المبادرة متلائمة مع "المؤشرات الرئيسية للأداء" المعتمدة في المملكة، والتي تنطوي على إدخال وتوظيف التقنية العالية المستوى والتنوع في الصناعات غير المعتمدة على البترول.

ومن هذا المنطلق، فإن تجمع السيارات في البرنامج يستهدف:

  • تشجيع ودعم المزيد من الاستثمارات السعودية والأجنبية في قطاع صناعة السيارات
  • تحويل المملكة العربية السعودية إلى فاعل رئيس في تطوير وإنتاج السيارات
  • تخفيض الواردات وزيادة الصادرات
  • إيجاد الوظيفة والتركيز عليها
  • المساعدة والمساهمة في التنوع الاقتصادي
    1. التقرير الصناعي العالمي حول صناعة السيارات والآليات (IBIS)، 2014
    2. أورغانيزاسيون إنتناسيونال دو كونستركتير دو اتوموبيل (OICA.net).

كذلك، تعد السعودية مستهلكاً رئيسياً للسيارات الصغيرة والشاحنات؛ والتي يتم استيرادها بالكامل في الوقت الحاضر، وقد بلغ إجمالي السيارات الخفيفة المباعة خلال العام 2015 ما مجموعه (774.000) (1) وحدة، ومن المتوقع أن يبلغ (800.000) خلال العام 2016. وتحتل سيارات تويوتا المركز الأول من حيث حجم المبيعات؛ فقد حققت ما نسبته (34%) من هذا العدد، وجاءت بعدها شركة هونداي – كيا، ثم جنرال موتورز، وبعدها نيسان – رينو. والمعروف أن أسواق السعودية هي الأكبر بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي الذي يضم إلى جانب المملكة العربية السعودية كلآً من البحرين، الكويت، عمان، قطر والإمارات العربية المتحدة. ومن الملاحظ أن الفئتين (C) و(D) من سيارات الركاب وسيارات الدفع الرباعي هما الأوسع مبيعاً في أسواق السعودية، وأن مبيعات السيارات السنوية في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي تتجاوز (1.56) مليون وحدة؛ ما يعكس الإمكانية الكبيرة أمام المملكة لتكون المجمع الرئيسي لإنتاج السيارات في المنطقة.

إلى جانب ذلك، هناك في المملكة طلب واسع على الشاحنات التجارية؛ وذلك مدعوم بالنهضة العمرانية التي تشهدها البلاد. تبلغ مبيعات الشاحنات والباصات في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي حوالي (131) ألف وحدة سنوياً ويتوقع ارتفاعه بنسبة تقارب (8%)(2) سنوياً. وأيضاً في هذا المجال، تعتبر أسواق السعودية هي الأوسع بين دول الخليج حيث تبلغ حركة المبيعات السنوية بها حالياً (21) ألفاً بالنسبة للشاحنات، و (11) ألفاً بالنسبة للباصات. ومن المتوقع أن يرتفع هذه السوق إلى (32) ألفاً و (20) ألفاً على التوالي محققاً نمواً إجمالياً بنسبة (62%) مع حلول العام 2020م.

هذا، ولا بد من الإشارة إلى أن أسواق دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي هي واحدة من أوسع الأسواق نمواً في مجال الإطارات، حيث حققت معدل نمو سنوي متراكم بنسبة (6%)، ويتوقع أن يبلغ عدد الإطارات (41) مليون وحدة سنوياً مع حلول العام 2020م. وما زالت الأسواق السعودية هي الأوسع محققة (62%) من مبيعات الإطارات. ومن هنا، فإن قيام مصنع إطارات على المستوى العالمي في السعودية قد يمكن الأول من نوعه في المنطقة برمتها، ومن شأنه أن يحقق تنافسية واسعة في أسواق دول مجالس التعاون الخليجي وأسواق منطقة التجارة الحرة العربية الكبرى (GAFTA)، الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا.




يقدر عدد السيارات حالياً على الطرق في المملكة العربية السعودية بحوالي (11) مليون سيارة (PARC)، وذلك ما يعتبر مدعاة للطلب الواسع والمتزايد على قطع الغيار في سوق السيارات، ومن ذلك الإطارات (يقدر حجم السوق بـ 20 مليون)، وغيرها من قطع الغيار لما بعد البيع.

المزايا والفرص


علاوة على الطلب المحلي القوي في السوق السعودية ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، فإن السعودية توفر الفرصة للوصول إلى ما يزيد على (400) مليون عميل في منطقتي الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. تبلغ مبيعات السيارات السنوية في هاتين المنطقتين ما يقارب (2.3) مليون سيارة، معظمها مستورد من الخارج. وعند الحديث عن منطقة التجارة الحرة العربية الكبرى (GAFTA)، فمن شأنها توفر الفرصة للتواصل الحر مع () دولة في منطقتي الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا؛ إذا كانت القيمة المحلية (40%) أو أكثر.

كذلك، يمكن أن تخدم المملكة السعودية منطقة أوسع من ذلك نظراً لموقعها الجغرافي الذي يتوسط ثلاث قارات هي: أوروبا، أفريقيا وآسيا، والتي لا تبعد عنها سوى ثلاث ساعات جواً. ومن المهم العلم بأن تعداد السكان في المملكة يبلغ حالياً (31) مليون نسمة، ويتزايد هذا التعداد بنسبة تبلغ (2.3%) سنوياً. كذلك، فإن عدد البيوت المستجدة يرتفع باستمرار بمعدل (3.7%)، ومعظمهم في وضع اقتصادي جيد إذ يبلغ إجمالي الناتج المحلي (24,252) دولاراً أمريكياً للفرد الواحد؛ وهو معدل يتجاوز مثيلاته في أوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية بنسبة ما بين 5% و 6%.


الفُرص

مصنع لإنتاج السيارات

تقوم المملكة العربية السعودية في الوقت الحالي بتطوير صناعة سيارات على المستوى العالمي، بحيث تصبح الدولة الرئيسية في هذه المنطقة في تغطية طلبات سوق …

  معرفة المزيد
مصنع لسكب الألمنيوم

سعياً لتطوير سلسلة القيمة في صناعة السيارات وللاستفادة من المواد الخام الأولية مثل الألمنيوم، فقد عمل البرنامج الوطني لتطوير التجمعات الصناعية على تح…

  معرفة المزيد
مصنع الإطارات

 سوف يكون هذا المشروع أول مشروع لصناعة الإطارات في المملكة العربية السعودية، وسيعمل على تغطية النمو في أسواق دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي والشرق الأوسط و…

  معرفة المزيد

قصص نجاح